5 min read

Stone Soup Digest 05.19.23

Writing Marathon Invitation
Stone Soup Digest 05.19.23
Photo by Michał Mendel / Unsplash

Welcome to the Stone Soup Weekly Digest! This is where I share what I'm up to and some of my favorite things from around the internet. Subscribe to Stone Soup to get this in your inbox every week.


I’m currently writing a disgusting book. It’s damp and awful and has more explicitly erotic content than anything I’ve ever done before. I’m having the time of my life. The weird thing about this book is that I’m writing it for fun, and I’m having fun writing it, and yes all art is political and everything contains deeper themes—but like, maybe this one doesn’t have deeper themes? It’s about attraction and disgust and mostly I just want to make my readers feel kinda horny and kinda grimy at the same time, and I want them to have a total blast either way. I have written over twenty thousand words in the last week and a half. It’s all I’m thinking about right now and I am a little bit in love and a little bit alarmed at the fact that the book I’m in love with is absolutely repulsive. But I guess that’s the point, right?


Saturday Writing Marathon

Tomorrow (that’s Saturday, May 20) I’m hosting a writing marathon! I’ll be writing from 10am to 3pm with a live Zoom hang. The goal for me is to get as much of my current WIP done as possible; the goal for you can be whatever you want, whether it’s catching up on paperwork, drawing, writing, or just hanging out with some cool people.

This writing marathon will be open to Supper Club subscribers and Boosters. If you’ve never gotten a chance to come to a Supper Club coworking date, this is your chance! Sign up here to get an email with a Zoom link in it. See you on Saturday!

Neon Hemlock announces 2024 novellas

This Is How You Lose the Time War and The Sun and the Star dominate the NYT list

Introducing the first trans character in Archie Comics

“I’ve been wanting to make this happen for a long time, and it’s really cool to see it finally come to fruition. I never wanted Danni’s trans identity to be gimmicky, or for her to feel like she was only created to be trans. So, I’d like to apologize for sneaking her over the line like this,” Jinx writer Magdalene Visaggio said in a statement provided to io9 over email. “I wanted you to have a chance to fall in love with her for who she is, not what she is. I’m honored I got to make it happen, and I’m grateful to Archie for never, not even once, pushing back on my insistence on making their books a little bit more queer. I hope Danni finds a good home at Archie with supportive writers and artists helping to keep her alive for years to come.”

Personal Canons Cookbook Call for Submissions

The Personal Canons Cookbook is currently open to submissions from Indigenous authors throughout the month of May! More details here.


I’m Reading: Do a Powerbomb by Daniel Warren Johnson

Lona Steelrose wants to be a pro-wrestler, but she's living under the shadow of her mother, the best to ever do it. Everything changes when a wrestling-obsessed necromancer asks her to join the grandest pro-wrestling tournament of all time, which is also the most dangerous! It's THE WRESTLER meets DRAGON BALL Z, in a tale where the competitors get more than they ever bargained for!

Barnes & Noble | Local Library | Bad River Website | Find an Indie Bookstore


Girls belong in the world of filmmaking. While we see them acting on-screen, there are also countless women working every single job possible behind the scenes as part of the film's crew. Are you a girl who is interested in filmmaking? Do you wonder how you actually make a movie? Well, this is the book for you.

Girls Make Movies puts you in the driver’s seat as you create a fictitious zombie blockbuster and are guided through each stage of production and learn about the processes, techniques, and people involved in making a Hollywood hit. Luckily, every path through this nonfiction book results in the film being made, but you will be asked to make choices that will affect the outcome of the movie. Will you shoot on location or on a studio lot? Use practical or special effects? Hire a greensperson or someone to do pyrotechnics? The choices are up to you!

Barnes & Noble | Local Library | Bad River Website | Find an Indie Bookstore


WGA Strike Coverage

Just like we covered the HarperCollins strike, we’re gonna keep you updated on what’s happening with the WGA (and, if things go the way it looks like they’re going, SAG/AFTRA too). Find community resources to support the WGA strike here.

This article from The Guardian breaks down why the WGA strike is important for everyone, not just writers.


If you’re a paying subscriber, come by the Stone Soup Supper Club for our weekly chat! I can’t wait to find out how you’re doing.

Please consider joining the Supper Club if you haven’t already! Subscriptions start at just $2 a month, and they keep the lights on here at Stone Soup. I hope to see you in the comments soon!

—Gailey